Hiram – The Ohio Soybean Association (OSA) is proud to announce the winners of the 2011 Ohio Soybean Yield and Quality Contest. This is the second year for the statewide contest with a total of 128 applicants.

Six different yield categories were available and the quality portion of the contest was based on achieving the highest percentages of oil and protein.

“The 2011 Ohio Soybean Yield and Quality Contest was a great success this year,” said Bret Davis, OSA president from Delaware County. “We had a good number of applicants and some really impressive yields. OSA congratulates the winners and looks forward to the 2012 contest.”

This year’s Overall State Yield Champion was Jack and Jason Groselle from Hiram, Ohio. Groselle recorded a yield of 85.773 bushels/acre with the Pioneer 93Y13 variety.

OSA thanks the sponsors of the 2011 Ohio Soybean Yield and Quality Contest: Asgrow, Monsanto, Ohio AgNet, Ohio’s Country Journal, Ohio Soybean Council, Seed Consultants and Shur Grow.