Cub Scout Pack 4062 held their Annual Pinewood Derby at James A. Garfield Elementary School on Saturday January 25, 2013.  This year the event was sponsored by Charles Auto Family and Warren Construction.

Scout Jordon Goodnight, Leader Angus McDougall, Leader Jason Bates and Scout Jayden Bates as their cars race down the track.

Prior to race day, each participant was given a derby kit that contain a block of wood, axle nails and wheels for the event. The scout had to use the nails and the wheels provided. They also had to use the slots provided for the placement of their axles as well. They are not allowed to use bushings, bearings or any form of wet lubricants and the car is to be gravity-powered. The boys could construct their car and design it anyway they wanted and decorate it in their own personal style. The derby cars could not exceed 5 oz and weights were allowed to be used.

The leaders were at the school early getting the twin tracks set-up for the race, and to check in the pinewood derby cars.  Once the cars were inspected and deemed to meet the requirements, they were impounded until race time. There were two twin tracks set up side by side to use for the race. One track was used for the younger Tigers (1st graders) and Wolves (2nd graders) to compete on and the other one was used for the Bears (3rd Graders), Webelos l (4th Graders) and Webelos ll (5th graders) to compete on. The races were a double elimination format with each car racing on both sides of the twin track.

By noon, the excitement was building as the boys and their families began lining the sideline of the track to watch the races with each boy anticipating a successful race.

Congratulations to the following winners:


1st – Alex Greenberg,

2nd – Tyler Lutz

3rd – Danny McIe.



1st – Justice Craver,

2nd – Matteo DiSansa

3rd – Owen Morris.



1st – Alex Cooper

2nd – Daniel Ensinger

3rd – Nick Bell.


Webelos I 

1st – Noah Eggert

2nd – Joseph Perrine

3rd – Jonathon Hundsza.


Webelos II

1st – Jason Schaefer

2nd – Gregory Aberschier

3rd – Dakotah Smith.


Track champions were Tiger/Wolf, Alex Greenberg and Bears/ Webelos, Jason Schaefer, and Sibling Champion was Josh Kent. The Best of Show winner was Alex Greenberg.