The Ohio House of Representatives approved legislation co-sponsored by State Representative Kathleen Clyde (D-Kent) to change the Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Medicine (NEOUCOM) to the Northeast Ohio Medical University (NEOMED).  This change will reflect the university’s updated curriculum and will come at no additional cost to the state.

“NEOUCOM has grown from a single college of medicine to a health sciences university with three colleges: medicine, pharmacy, and graduate studies,” said Rep. Clyde in a speech on the House floor in support of the bill.  “The name NEOUCOM no longer reflects the growth and transformation of the institution and its position as one of the 14 independent state universities in Ohio.”

An emergency clause was added to House Bill 139 in hopes that the inaugural class of pharmacy students will be able to graduate with degrees from the Northeast Ohio Medical University.  The legislation was approved 92-1 by the House, and now goes to the Ohio Senate for deliberation.

Rep. Clyde represents the 68th Ohio House District in Portage County, serving Northern and Southeastern Portage County, including Aurora, Garrettsville, Hiram, Kent, Mantua, Ravenna, Streetsboro, and Windham.