Newton Falls – Despite the very cold weather in the week preceding, Saturday, March 23, was a great day for the 60th Newton Falls  Community Easter Egg Hunt sponsored by the  Girl Scouts.    A cool, but sunny day made the crowd a little less than previous years but gave those attending a bigger haul of prizes.  Over 7000 eggs were stuffed with candy and prizes for the kids to gather.  Big Top the Clown, the Easter Bunny, and Shelly the Good Egg entertained the kids with balloon animals, high-fives, and pictures.  Again, it was a joy to see at least one of Janice Dietelbach’s original junior high girl scouts who started this service project attend bringing a grandchild (or maybe a great-grandchild) to gather eggs.

The Grand Prize winners were:  Jersei Stump, daughter of Samantha and Bill Stumpf of Niles, in the 2-year-old category: Georgie Phillips, son of George and Karen Phillips of NF, in the 3-4year old category: Justin Meeks, son of Samantha Meeks of NF, in the 5-7 year old category: and Sydney McColloch, daughter of James and Dawn McColloch of  Streetsboro, in the 8-10 year old category.

Donations were received from Falls Home Remodeling, Subway, Karen Wilber, Advance America, Nancy Lance, Nancy Thomas, Betty Davis, NF Lions, M/M Raymond Cowie, Dottie Young, Liberty Tax Service, Faces Loung, Associates for Insurance Solutions, Dental Associates, Laurie Ann Home Health Care, Ohio Tax Lady, Sole Realty, Roods Wallpaper, Main Moon Restaurants, M/M Morris White, NF Masonic Lodge, Church of God Christian Women’s Connection, St. Mary & Joseph Ladie’s Guild, NF Rotary Club, NF Kiwanis, NF Laundromat, NF Hobby Hunters, Trumbull Pattern Works, First Baptist Church, Beta Sigma Phi, Dr. Jay Kiefer, American Legion Post #236, American Legion Auxiliary, VFW #3332 Auxiliary, and Mayor Lyle Waddell.

Workers included  from Troop #80814 (Leader Kathi Kovacic) Chelsea Rodgers, Tabitha Wadell, Tori Wickline, Valerie Reese, Alexis Wayt, and Tina Gilmartin: from Troop #124, Louanne Dubos and Teresa Oakes, leaders, Tami Young, Kendall Hall, Carly Irons, Kaitlin Conway, Sarah Dubos, and Jaymie Cooper: from Troop #239, Pat Leach, Leader, Aby Houser, Samantha Lewis, Alyssa Hartley, and Kelly Pirko: Kris Lilly, Joely Braham, Kathy Begeot,  Bella Rinehart, Allyson Deneen, Allison Hunt, Clarissa Nichols, Rob Rudkowski, Marvin Saylor, Ron Sullivan, Jr., Ron Sullivan, and Shara Sullivan, Event Coordinator.