Home News Geauga SWCD’s Board of Supervisors Reorganize for the District’s 69th Year

Geauga SWCD’s Board of Supervisors Reorganize for the District’s 69th Year


During their first meeting of 2013, the Geauga Soil and Water Conservation District’s (SWCD) Board of Supervisors selected officers for the year.  Serving as volunteers, the five-member Board of Supervisors sets the direction for the District staff and makes important conservation decisions for the community.  Board members are elected to serve staggered, three-year terms, and are granted specific powers under Chapter 1515 of the Ohio Revised Code.  The Geauga SWCD was organized in 1944 and remains committed to its mission of “conserving, protecting, and enhancing the soil and water resources of Geauga County by providing leadership, education, and assistance to all”. On Thursday, January 10th, newest members Dee Belew and Mike Blakeman were officially sworn in to the Board of Supervisors.  Dee was nominated as Vice Chair while Mike will serve as Secretary to the board.  Both Dee and Mike were elected at the District’s Annual Meeting in October 2012 and bring to the board valuable experience and dedication to natural resources conservation.

The returning board members will assume different responsibilities for the upcoming year than they had in their previous terms.  Mary Slingluff will be Board Chair, Ed Hren will serve as Treasurer, and Mike Henry will be Fiscal Agent to the board.

Associate Supervisors were also appointed to serve as volunteers to assist the Geauga SWCD Board Supervisors and staff with various activities.  Past supervisors Dick Balazs and Ken Folsom will join Nancy Speck as Geauga SWCD Associate Supervisors for 2013.  The District would like to thank and congratulate the board members and associate supervisors and wish them luck in the coming year!