Garrettsville – On January 19, Cub Scout Pack 4062 of Garrettsville held their annual Arrow of Light Ceremony and Pinewood Derby.

Eric Schaefer and Talon Cline were awarded the Arrow of Light.  The Arrow of Light award is the highest award available to Cub Scouts. It requires the Scout to have earned the Webelos Scout badge and eight activity badges. In addition, the Arrow of Light requires Scouts to learn the Scout Promise and Scout Law, and visit one meeting and one activity of a Boy Scout troop, in preparation for advancing to the Boy Scouts.  The Arrow of Light award is the only Cub Scout award that can be worn on a Boy Scout uniform.

After the Arrow of Light was awarded, the Scouts participated in the Pinewood Derby.  Scouts are given a block of wood to make into their own creation to race.  Scouts race head-to-head in a double-elimination tournament.2013-01-19-13.34

Racing Results

Tiger Den (1st grade):

1st Place  and Track Champion- Jayden Bates

2nd Place – Jordan Goodnight

3rd Place – Phoenix Cline


Wolf Den (2nd grade):

1st Place – Alex Cooper

2nd Place – Kyle Schaefer

3rd Place – Nick Bell


Bear Den (3rd grade):

1st Place and Track Champion – Joseph Perrine

2nd Place – Cameron Reighard

3rd Place – Aidan McDougall


Webelos Dens (4th & 5th grade):

1st Place – Gregory Aebischer

2nd Place – Isaac Trickett

3rd Place – Kyle Lance


Best of Show – Owen Wolff

(Best of Show is given to the car judged to have the most work done by the Scout.)


The Boy Scouts of America is one of the nation’s largest and most prominent values-based youth development organizations. The BSA provides a program for young people that builds character, trains them in the responsibilities of participating citizenship, and develops personal fitness. To find a Scout unit near you go to